Page Of Cups

Adventure is in the heart

This page is interested in all things heart- and soul-centered. The Page of Cups is ready to love and will give her heart freely, open to sharing, and eager to find the right one.

It’s a happy, beautiful card that represents someone who acts as if they have never been hurt. They can feel their heart beat and are eager to go on a journey. On some cards, the image of a fish jumping out of a cup is shown. The fish symbolizes spirituality. However, the Page’s attitude is one that encourages playfulness. They see beauty, but also have fun.

The Page of Cups doesn’t just focus on romance or love – it is also about exploring the soul. Their realm includes water, spirituality and intuition as well as feelings, emotions and feelings. Although they may not understand what “follow your bliss” means, they are certain that this is what they want to do. This could be a way to experiment with new spiritual or religious practices or explore different ways of understanding and expressing their spirituality. It’s a great time to experiment with something new, maybe something you were cynical about or something that you have always felt called to you.

Take this journey with an open heart and a positive outlook. Do not take this too seriously. The journey of the soul is not easy. There may be difficult times along the way. But this is about being open to new possibilities.

The Major Arcana

The tarot consists of two parts: 56 Minor Arcana cards and 22 Major Arcana cards.

We will be exploring the Minor Arcana later. It is about the small, daily elements of our lives, such as relationships, experiences, and the details that make up the larger picture.

However, The Major Arcana is all about the ‘big picture’.

These cards represent universal experiences and archetypes of powers that can influence our lives. They include love, hope, manifestations of great ideas, fear, loneliness, longing, tradition, society and nature, as well as love, hope, love, hate, fear, despair, loneliness, desire, tradition. These themes are also present in the Minor Arcana, but they are presented in a more everyday, down-to-earth way.

The 22 Major Arcana cards are numbered 0-21. Our journey begins with card zero, or the Fool. It is a blank canvas. The World is complete, card 21. Between, there are many strange, wonderful, and horrible things.

The Fool’s Journey

The Major Arcana often tells stories through the term “The Fool’s Journey”. The Fool is the first person we meet, and it’s at zero, nothing. Then, we follow the Fool on an interesting journey similar to those of heroes in legends and myths. There’s learning and there’s falling. There are options, and there are also mistakes. There are spirituality and materialism. There are moments of clarity, and periods of loss and destruction. Finally, we reach the End – the World. The journey is over.

This is important to keep in mind as you go through the Major cards. Although understanding the Fool’s Journey does not require you to be a master of tarot decks, it can help to see the cards as a sequence.

What is an “archetype”?

The Major Arcana refers to recognisable patterns, which are representations of a type that we recognize and can understand. They allow us to understand complex concepts through a familiar form.

These archetypes make up the Major Arcana, with some being more familiar than others. One example is the Hermit: A bearded, hooded figure who lives alone on a mountaintop or near the edge of the forest, leaning on his staff and wearing a hat. Another example is Death: The grim reaper, skeletal and clad in black, comes for us all with her sword, reminding us that all things end or change. The High Priestess is a mysterious, quiet figure that understands ancient ways and holds key to collective unconscious. What about the Moon (the madman), Emperor (the strict ruler), or Empress (‘mother Nature’)?

These archetypes can be found in mythologies and books, as well as films. We recognize most of these archetypes because of our exposure to popular culture, as well as the fact that we have the stories of our ancestors in us. These are representations of things, not the thing itself. They can be whatever you think they are. One person might say, “Oh, I love Tower card, it shakes up!” while another person may say, “I fear that card.” It was scary the last time I saw it.

Courtney Weber wrote in The Tarot for One

The Major Arcana’s twenty-two cards depict the great myths we live. [… These cards could represent] pivotal people who have influenced and shaped our lives, as well situations, lessons, conflicts or blessings. The Major Arcana’s role in the Tarot gives us an opportunity to reflect upon these points and accept them as the great mythic stories they are.

All right, enough with my gibberish! Working with the Major Arcana is the best way to find out what they really mean.

Each card in this section is first introduced as an archetype. Is it a symbol, what are its themes or symbols? What’s the point of this card?

Then I will discuss the ‘advice” that this card can offer. This is to give a more practical interpretation for the card’s meaning. It goes beyond its archetype role, and what does it actually represent in a tarot reader? What could it be encouraging or advising you?

Following this, I will summarize the card and help to commit it to your memory. Finally, I will list some common symbols that are often found on this card.